Graham Spry

spry17-1_M_L

Graham Spry at 3 months of age with his mother Ethelyn Spry (May 1900)

Graham Spry was born on February 20, 1900 in St Thomas, Ontario. Raised in a comfortable middle-class family, Spry was an important 20th century Canadian intellectual activist who worked as an editor, reporter, war correspondent, newspaper publisher, author, lobbyist, diplomat, and corporate executive in Canada, Europe, Asia, and the Middle East.

As a student at the University of Manitoba in the early 1920s, Spry won the gold medal in history, and became editor of the student paper, The Manitoban. He went on to work as a reporter and editorial writer for the Winnipeg Free Press. Free Press editor, John Dafoe, proved an important influence and mentor, contributing to Spry’s lifelong commitment to fostering a distinct Canadian society and culture. Subsequently, Spry edited and wrote for numerous Canadian and British newspapers and magazines during the summers while at university and in the following years. Some of these publications include: The Morning Albertan (Calgary), The Daily Express (London, England), The Farmers Sun/New Commonwealth, Canadian Forum, and Social Planning in Canada. During World War II, he also worked as a war correspondent for The London Times and The Ottawa Citizen.

spry7-1_M_L

Graham Spry and Irene Biss on their wedding day at Chelsea Old Church in London, June 1938.

In 1922, Spry won a Rhodes Scholarship and left Canada to study at Oxford University. While at Oxford, Spry met a group of dynamic young Canadians, including Lester B. Pearson, with whom he met regularly to discuss Canadian current affairs. When Spry returned to Canada in 1926, Dafoe offered him the job of Secretary of the Canadian Clubs, a position that allowed Spry to begin to intervene in Canadian culture, identity and politics. In 1928 Spry established Canadian Nation, a magazine that expressed Canadian values of internationalism, biculturalism, the recognition of the Canadian cultural mosaic, and strong support of Canadian culture and artists.

spry15-1_M_L

Graham Spry in 1938.

Graham Spry is perhaps best remembered for his passionate activism in support of Canadian public broadcasting. In 1930, when radio was emerging as a key medium of mass communication in North America, Spry co-founded with fellow activist Alan Plaunt the Canadian Radio League (CRL), a grassroots organization that advocated public control of the airwaves. In 1929, when the American lobby for a model of private broadcasting in Canada was highly influential, the Royal Commission on Public Broadcasting (also known as the Aird Commission) recommended the establishment of a national public radio system to be called the Canadian Radio Broadcasting Company. However, when Mackenzie King’s Liberal government was defeated by R.B. Bennett’s Conservatives in the 1930 federal election, the project of public broadcasting was called into question. The Canadian Radio League, spearheaded by Spry and Plaunt, campaigned vigorously in support of public broadcasting. Their efforts culminated in the establishment of the Canadian Radio Broadcasting Commission in 1932, which evolved into the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation (CBC) four years later.

spry6-1_M_L

A typical breakfast pose. Graham Spry in the late 1950s or early 1960s in London.

Biographer David Smith describes Spry as an “intellectual activist.” In a short biography written in 2000, Smith details a highly successful lobbying campaign for public broadcasting spearheaded by Spry and Plaunt in the late 1920s and early 1930s: “Spry convinced Canadian skeptics that it was possible to resist the American media tide. Perhaps the biggest skeptic of all was Conservative Prime Minister R. B. Bennett. Through almost two years of both private and public lobbying, Spry managed to bring him on side. … Spry also led a very public campaign. In hard-hitting articles published in journals of the day, Spry argued convincingly that only through federal support would it be possible for Canadians to effectively speak to each other in this new medium. Spry and Plaunt together orchestrated a masterful campaign that united business, academic, newspaper, and religious leaders in a common cause. All these interests recognized the wisdom of asserting some measure of control for Canadians over the new medium [in order to allow] a Canadian perspective.”

spry13-1_M_L

Graham Spry, an avid reader and writer, in his favourite chair at the Spry’s Ottawa house in the 1970s.

Biographer Rose Potvin notes that Spry’s and Plaunt’s campaign for Canadian public broadcasting remains a classic case in the art of lobbying. Aside from the tactical success of the campaign, the ideas expressed by Spry in this context remain pertinent in a contemporary neoliberal landscape where media policy and economics are increasingly guided by discourses of deregulation, privatization and globalization. Consider, for instance, Spry’s classic 1931 commentary in “A Case for Nationalized Broadcasting”: “Here is a majestic instrument of national unity and national culture. Its potentialities are too great, its influence and significance are too vast, to be left to the petty purposes of selling cakes and soap.” In his incisive account of Spry’s contribution to Canadian communication thought, Robert Babe (2000) writes: “In 1930, Spry coined his famous and oft-repeated aphorism ‘It is a choice between the State and the United States’ to underline the fact that in broadcasting (as in so many other matters), Canada as a nation, as a community, cannot survive without government actively coordinating, and in some measure, directing activities.”

spry8-1_M_L

Graham Spry gives a speech at his 71st birthday party. This homage to his life’s work organized by friends and colleagues.

In addition to his passionate commitment to fostering Canadian public media, Spry was also a staunch socialist. Spry acted as a special constable during the 1919 Winnipeg General Strike, and although he later felt he had been on the wrong side, the Strike had a formative influence. Amidst a deepening Depression in the early 1930s, Spry was a founding member of the League for Social Reconstruction; he later joined the Co-operative Commonwealth Federation (CCF) and was a signatory of the 1933 Regina Manifesto. One of the first to run for office under a CCF banner in 1934 and 1935, he lost both contests by what he called “large and enthusiastic majorities.”

In 1938, Spry married Irene Biss, and the couple had three children, Richard, Robin and Lib. The couple first met in 1933 through the League for Social Reconstruction, and Irene and Graham shared a commitment to social justice. It is important to note that Irene Biss was a brilliant political economist in her own right. A student of John Maynard Keynes, Biss became a lecturer at the Department of Political Economy at the University of Toronto where she worked closely with renowned Canadian communication scholar Harold Innis. Obliged by a University of Toronto policy to resign her position when she married, Irene taught briefly at Cambridge before World War Two, worked as an economist for the Canadian government during the war, and became deputy president of the Associated Country Women of the World while the Spry family was based in Britain. Irene Spry later taught at the University of Saskatchewan and at the University of Ottawa after the family returned to Canada.

spry11-1_M_L

Graham Spry with his grandchild and his son Robin (right) and wife Irene in the background.

Branded a radical because of his association with the CCF, by the mid-1930s Spry was virtually unemployable in Canada. He eventually found a position England with an American oil company, and during World War II served as personal assistant to Sir Stafford Cripps of the British War Cabinet. In 1942, he accompanied Cripps on a mission to negotiate Indian independence. In 1948, Spry re-established professional ties with Canada when he was appointed agent general for Saskatchewan in Britain at the behest of the province’s CCF premier Tommy Douglas, Spry’s former friend and colleague. Although this was initially only a short-term appointment, Spry stayed on as agent-general for over two decades, all the while closely following events in Canada. One of Spry’s many achievements as agent general was to recruit British medical personnel to help neutralize the 1962 Saskatchewan doctors’ strike against the introduction of provincial medicare.

spry4-1_M_L

Shield’s Edge, the Spry family cottage on Kingsmere Lake near Ottawa, purchased just before Graham Spry was posted overseas.

In 1968, Graham Spry returned to Canada where he settled with his wife Irene in Ottawa. Officially in retirement, he remained active, notably by reactivating the Canadian Radio League (renamed the Canadian Broadcasting League) where he served as chairman from 1968 until 1973. In recognition of his services, Spry received five honorary doctorates and was made a Companion of the Order of Canada. On his seventy-first birthday, Spry’s friends and colleagues held a party to honour his lifetime achievements with Lester B. Peason as master of ceremonies. He died in 1983.

Graham Spry at Shield’s Edge cottage.

Graham Spry at Shield’s Edge cottage.

Original text by Julianne Pidduck

Bibliography

Robert E. Babe, “The Communication Thought of Graham Spry,” Canadian Communication Thought: Ten Foundational Writers, Toronto: University of Toronto Press, 2000.

Rose Potvin, Passion and Conviction: The Letters of Graham Spry, Canadian Plains Research Center, University of Regina, 1992.

David James Smith, “Graham Spry: Father of Canadian Public Broadcasting.” Friends of Canadian Broadcasting website, March 1, 2000. http://www.friends.ca/pub/189

David James Smith, Intellectual activist: Graham Spry, a biography, doctoral dissertation, York University Department of History, 2003.

Graham Spry, “A Case for Nationalized Broadcasting,” Queen’s Quarterly 37/4 (Winter 1931): 151-169.

Graham Spry

spry17-1_M_L

Graham Spry à l’âge de 3 mois avec sa mère Ethelyn Spry (mai 1900).

Graham Spry est né le 20 février 1900 à St-Thomas en Ontario. Élevé dans un milieu aisé, Spry compte parmi les grands militants intellectuels canadiens du 20e siècle. Au fil de sa carrière, il a été rédacteur en chef, journaliste, correspondant de guerre, directeur de rédaction d’un journal, auteur, lobbyiste, diplomate et dirigeant d’entreprise au Canada, en Europe, en Asie et au Moyen-Orient.

Durant ses études à l’Université du Manitoba, au début des années 1920, Spry remporte une médaille d’or en histoire et devient le rédacteur en chef du journal étudiant, The Manitoban. Il travaille ensuite comme journaliste et éditorialiste pour le quotidien Winnipeg Free Press. Le rédacteur en chef, John Dafoe, sera un personnage influent et un mentor pour Spry dans sa lutte pour une société et une culture canadiennes distinctes. Au cours de ses études et les années suivantes, Spry publie des textes dans plusieurs revues et journaux du Canada et de la Grande-Bretagne, dont The Morning Albertan de Calgary, The Daily Express de Londres en Angleterre, The Farmers Sun/New Commonwealth, Canadian Forum et Social Planning in Canada. Il est aussi correspondant de guerre pour London Times et Ottawa Citizen pendant la Deuxième Guerre mondiale.

spry7-1_M_L

Graham Spry et Irene Biss le jour de leur mariage à l’église Old Chelsea à Londres (juin 1938).

En 1922, Spry remporte une bourse d’études de la Fondation Rhodes pour les étudiants canadiens désirant étudier à l’Université d’Oxford. C’est ainsi qu’il quitte le Canada pour étudier à Oxford en Angleterre où il fait la connaissance d’un groupe de jeunes Canadiens dynamiques, parmi lesquels il rencontre Lester B. Pearson. Spry et lui se retrouvent régulièrement pour discuter ensemble de l’actualité canadienne. Au retour de Graham Spry au Canada, en 1926, John Dafoe lui offre le poste de secrétaire général du Cercle canadien. Ce rôle permet à Spry d’intervenir sur les questions d’identité, de culture et de politique canadiennes. En 1928, Spry fonde la revue Canadian Nation qui expose les valeurs canadiennes d’internationalisme et de biculturalisme, qui reconnaît la disparité du paysage culturel au pays et qui soutient activement la culture et les artistes canadiens.

spry15-1_M_L

Graham Spry (1938).

Graham Spry est probablement mieux connu pour son militantisme passionné pour une radiodiffusion publique au Canada. En 1930, à l’époque où la radio se révèle être un des médias de masse en Amérique du Nord, Spry cofonde avec un autre militant, Alan Plaunt, la Canadian Radio League (CRL). Cette organisation communautaire milite pour le contrôle public des ondes. En 1929, alors que le lobby américain pour la radiodiffusion privée au Canada exerce une grande influence sur l’État, une Commission royale d’enquête sur la radiodiffusion (la Commission Aird) recommande la création d’une société publique de radiodiffusion nationale qui se dénommerait la Canadian Radio Broadcasting Company. Cependant, la défaite de Mackenzie King à l’élection fédérale de 1930 fait perdre le pouvoir au Parti libéral au profit du Parti progressiste-conservateur avec R.B. Bennett à sa tête. Cette transition remet en question le projet de radiodiffusion publique. Spry et Plaunt, qui président la Canadian Radio League, lancent une campagne énergique pour la radiodiffusion publique. Leurs efforts aboutissent à la création de la Commission canadienne de radiodiffusion (CCR) en 1932 qui deviendra quatre ans plus tard, la Société Radio-Canada (SRC).

spry6-1_M_L

Une pause déjeuner classique de Graham Spry à Londres (fin des années 1950, début des années 1960).

Le biographe David Smith décrit Graham Spry comme un « intellectuel militant ». Dans une courte biographie écrite en 2000, Smith évoque le succès de la campagne de lobbyisme de Spry et Plaunt sur la radiodiffusion publique vers la fin des années 1920, au début des années 1930: « Spry a persuadé les Canadiens sceptiques qu’il était possible de résister au déferlement des médias américains. L’un des plus difficiles à convaincre a probablement été le premier ministre conservateur R.B. Bennett. Il a fallu pratiquement deux ans de lobbying auprès de différents groupes d’intérêts privés et publics avant que Spry rallie le premier ministre à sa cause. […] En parallèle, Spry menait une campagne pour sensibiliser la population. Par une série d’articles-chocs publiés dans les journaux de l’époque, Graham Spry a exposé de façon convaincante que seul l’État détenait le pouvoir de soutenir ce nouveau média qui permettrait aux Canadiens de dialoguer entre eux. Spry et Plaunt ont orchestré une campagne réussie qui a mobilisé le milieu des affaires, le milieu académique, les médias écrits et les dirigeants religieux à se rallier à une cause commune. Toutes ces instances corroboraient l’idée de maintenir un certain contrôle sur le nouveau média dans le but de préserver une perspective canadienne. »

spry13-1_M_L

Graham Spry, lecteur invétéré et auteur, sur son fauteuil préféré dans sa résidence à Ottawa (années 1970).

La biographe Rose Potvin précise que la campagne de Spry et Plaunt pour une radiodiffusion publique au Canada demeure un exemple dans l’art du lobbyisme. Abstraction faite des résultats probants de la campagne, les idées exprimées par Spry restent d’actualité dans une conjoncture néolibérale contemporaine où le développement politique et économique des médias s’oriente de plus en plus vers la déréglementation, la privatisation et la mondialisation. À cet effet, le commentaire notoire de Spry de 1931,  A Case for Nationalised Broadcasting, pourrait être repris, aujourd’hui : « C’est [la radio] un majestueux instrument d’unité nationale et de culture nationale. Ses possibilités sont trop grandes, son influence et sa portée, trop considérables pour réduire la radio à un média servant à vendre des gâteaux et des savons. » Dans le chapitre de son livre Canadian communication thought (2000) sur la contribution de Spry au développement des théories sur les communications au Canada, Robert Babe écrit : « En 1930, Spry inventait cet aphorisme célèbre repris maintes fois depuis, ‘C’est un choix entre l’État et les États-Unis’ dans lequel il soulignait que le Canada, en tant que nation et en tant que communauté, ne pouvait pas survivre sans que l’État coordonne activement et, dans certaines mesures, dirige les opérations de la radiodiffusion (ce qui était aussi vrai pour plusieurs autres sphères d’activités du pays.) »

spry8-1_M_L

Graham Spry durant un discours à son 71e anniversaire organisé par ses amis et collègues pour honorer l’ensemble de ses réalisations (1971).

En plus de militer activement pour l’importance des médias publics au Canada, Spry est un socialiste convaincu. Pendant la Grève générale de Winnipeg en 1919, Spry agit à titre de constable spécial pour la GRC. Cette grève, qu’il considère avec du recul avoir combattue du mauvais côté, lui apprend beaucoup. Au plus profond de la crise, au début des années 1930, Spry est parmi les fondateurs de l’organisation de gauche, la League for Social Reconstruction (LSR). Il se joint ensuite aux membres de la Co-operative Commonwealth Federation (CCF) qui signent le manifeste de Régina de 1933. En 1934 et en 1935, il est l’un des premiers à se présenter aux élections sous la bannière du CCF. Il perd ses élections par ce qu’il désigne comme de larges et enthousiastes majorités.

En 1938, il épouse Irene Biss avec laquelle il a trois enfants : Richard, Robin et Lib. Le couple se rencontre en 1933 à la League for Social Reconstruction (LSR) dont ils font tous deux partie. Irene et Graham partagent cette ferveur à défendre la justice sociale. Il est important de préciser qu’Irene Biss est une éminente économiste politique. Après avoir étudié avec John Maynard Keynes, Biss devient conférencière au département d’économie politique de l’Université de Toronto où elle travaille en étroite collaboration avec des sommités canadiennes dans le domaine des communications telles que Harold Innis. Contrainte de démissionner de son poste à l’Université de Toronto parce qu’elle se marie, Irene enseigne peu de temps à Cambridge avant la Deuxième Guerre mondiale. Ensuite, pendant la guerre, elle travaille comme économiste au sein du gouvernement canadien, puis, quand les Spry s’installent en Grande-Bretagne, elle devient vice-présidente de l’Associated Country Women of the World. À leur retour au Canada, Irene Spry enseigne à l’Université de la Saskatchewan et à l’Université d’Ottawa.

spry11-1_M_L

Graham Spry aux côtés de son petit-fils et de son fils, Robin (à droite), et Irène, la femme de Graham Spry, à l’arrière-plan.

Perçu comme un radical par son association avec la CCF, Spry ne réussit plus à se faire embaucher au Canada à partir du milieu des années 1930. Il décroche finalement un poste en Angleterre dans une société pétrolière américaine et devient, pendant la Deuxième Guerre mondiale, l’adjoint de sir Stafford Cripps au cabinet de guerre britannique. En 1942, il accompagne Cripps en mission de négociation pour l’indépendance de l’Inde. En 1948, Spry renoue des liens professionnels avec le Canada quand le premier ministre CCF de la Saskatchewan, Tommy Douglas, un ami, ancien collègue de Spry, le nomme délégué général de la province au Royaume-Uni. À l’origine, il ne s’agit que d’une affectation à court terme, mais Spry conserve ce titre plus de deux décennies pendant lesquelles il suit de près les événements de l’actualité canadienne. Parmi ses nombreuses réalisations à titre de délégué général, Spry recrute du personnel médical britannique pour contrer la grève des médecins de la Saskatchewan contre l’implantation de l’assurance maladie provinciale en 1962.

spry4-1_M_L

La maison de campagne de la famille Spry, Shield’s Edge, située sur le lac Kingsmere près d’Ottawa, une acquisition précédent de peu l’affectation à l’étranger de Graham Spry.

En 1968, Graham Spry et sa femme, Irène, reviennent au Canada où ils s’installent dans la région d’Ottawa. Officiellement à la retraite, Spry reste actif, notamment en relançant la Canadian Radio League (qui sera renommée la Canadian Broadcasting League) où il siège en tant que président de 1968 à 1973. En reconnaissance de ses services, Spry reçoit 5 doctorats honorifiques en plus d’être nommé Compagnon de l’ordre du Canada. À ses 71 ans, pour célébrer l’ensemble de ses réalisations, les amis et les collègues de Spry organisent une fête dont le maître de cérémonie n’est nul autre que Lester B. Pearson. Après ce dernier hommage officiel, il meurt en 1983.

Graham Spry at Shield’s Edge cottage.

Graham Spry à la maison de campagne, Shield’s Edge.

Texte original de Julianne Pidduck
Traduction de Florence François 

Références

BABE, Robert E., (2000) « The Communication Thought of Graham Spry », Canadian Communication Thought: Ten Foundational Writers, Toronto, University of Toronto Press.

POTVIN, Rose, (1992), Passion and Conviction: The Letters of Graham Spry, Canadian Plains Research Center, Université de Regina.

SMITH, David James, (2000) « Graham Spry: Father of Canadian Public Broadcasting », récupéré du site Friends of Canadian Broadcasting : http://www.friends.ca/pub/189.

SMITH, David James, (2003), Intellectual activist: Graham Spry, a biography, thèse de doctorat, York University Department of History.

SPRY, Graham, (1931), « A Case for Nationalized Broadcasting », Queen’s Quarterly, 37/4 (Hiver), p. 151-169.